Yalingwa is a Victorian visual arts initiative supporting the development of outstanding contemporary First Nations art and curatorial practice, with a primary focus on South East Australian First Nations artists within a national context.

Established by Creative Victoria in partnership with the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art and the TarraWarra Museum of Art, the initiative has been designed to provide a platform for First Nations artists and curators to develop their work at a senior professional level within the context of a high-profile, leading public gallery/museum, as well as offering a substantial Fellowship for an artist who has made a significant contribution to contemporary First Nations art and cultural practice.

The inaugural Yalingwa series from 2017–2023 comprises:

  • Three two-year curatorial positions for First Nations curators to work with ACCA and TarraWarra to develop major exhibitions and within leading contemporary art institutions
  • Three major exhibitions held in 2018, 2021, and 2023 alternating between ACCA and TarraWarra Museum of Art, focused on new commissions by contemporary First Nations artists
  • Three Artist Fellowships of $60,000 awarded to established, senior South East Australian First Nations artists who have made an important contribution to the development of Indigenous cultural expression

Yalingwa Directions Circle

Yalingwa Directions Circle, including Elders, experienced curators and cultural leaders, ensures that the program continues to be informed and led by First Peoples and knowledge and is representative of cultural practices and protocols. The Directions Circle members serve as advisors and ambassadors for the development of the Yalingwa Initiative, support the appointed curator with feedback and advocacy, and encourage Indigenous community engagement with the Initiative. Current Direction Circle Members include: Aunty Joy Murphy Wandin AO (chair), Kylie Belling, Belinda Briggs, Hetti Perkins, Stacey Piper and Hannah Presley.


Hannah Presley
ACCA, 2017–2019

Stacie Piper
TarraWarra Museum of Art, 2019–2021

Jessica Clark
ACCA, 2022–2024


Yalingwa Fellowships

Photograph: Jacqui Shelton

Destiny Deacon
2018 Yalingwa Fellow

Photograph: Tiffany Garvie

Yhonnie Scarce
2020 Yalingwa Fellow

Photograph: Casey Horsfield

Maree Clarke
2023 Yalingwa Fellow